India Area History

India became a Region when India-Ceylon Region was divided into two on July 1st, 1974. The late Justice Ym. M. U. Isaac was the 1st Regional Director of India Region.

At the Regional Convention held at Kottayam in June 1980, it was decided to trifurcate the India Region as:

(1) West India Region, covering the entire Kerala,

(2) South India Region, covering the states of Tamil Nadu and Karnataka and

(3) Central India Region, covering Andhra Pradesh and the entire North India.

The three new regions had their business meetings immediately after the trifurcation and elected their regional officers and council.

At the International Council Meeting at Stockholm in 1980, it was suggested that Asia be divided into 2 or 3 areas because of the size, language and difficulty in communication. This was further discussed at the Asia Area Council Meeting in Sri Lanka in 1981 and it was decided to recommend the formation of the India Area to the International.

India was well represented at this meeting under the leadership of Justice Ym. M.U. Isaac. India Area was formally inaugurated at the Asia Area Convention at Taipei in 1983 and Ym. Dr. P. Sukumaran was installed as the First India Area President by Ym. Toshiro Takeuchi, the Asia Area President.

Justice Ym. M. U. Isaac and Ym. Dr. P. Sukumaran piloted the formation of India Area at different levels.

The West India Region was trifurcated in 1987 at the combined convention of all three Regions and Area, thereby forming 5 Regions in India Area as follows:

1. South West India Region (Kerala’s five Southern Districts).

2. Mid West India Region (Ernakulam and Idukki revenue Districts).

3. West India Region (Mangalore Area and Northern Districts of Kerala, up to Thrissur).

4. South India Region (Tamilnadu State and Karnataka State excluding Mangalore Area).

5. Central India Region (Rest of India, not included in other four Regions).

The South West India Region was further trifurcated in 2021 to include following 2 new Regions:

6. Central Travancore Region and

7. Middle East Region.

Thus, India Area now consists of above mentioned 7 Regions.